Why LeBron James Skipped the 2010 Dunk Contest ... 2010 Comments Doug Pensinger/Getty Images ... And now the refusal to be in the dunk contest. Contest Winners. On Feb. 14, 2009, while NBA fans watched Nate Robinson and Dwight Howard dazzle in the dunk contest we had something else to keep our minds on. The 2010 Powerade Slam Dunk contest was won by Josh Selby. A fraud. A timed basketball skills competition was added to the schedule of events in 2009.

The winner of the 2010 3-point shoot-out was Cory Joseph. The slam dunk contest was first held in 1987, and a 3-point shooting challenge was added in 1989. The fear of being called a loser.